Before & After(?) (Part 1)


Welcome Back! I’ve got so much to up date you on, I don’t even know where to begin :)

We haven’t gotten to the exterior of the house yet, but I love my front door ever since my mom bought me 2 hanging flower baskets, and we removed the ‘faux’ carpeting on the entryway.

Next up, the entryway/den…

Now, I could easily just show you before and after photos, but what fun is that when you don’t see the blood, sweat and tears put in behind the all the work? And trust me, the ‘blood, sweat and tears’ is a literal quote!

Starting off when we bought the house…

This is after we painted. It doesn’t look all too bad, but the ceiling drove Ross & I nuts. It was a drop-ceiling, and the tiles had the look of what you would see in an office building. So down it came….

I’m really happy we decided to take down the tiles after all b/c the insulation deteriorated as soon as you would touch it. So down that came as well. It obviously wasn’t serving it’s purpose anymore. We went out and bought R38 insulation since we have a flat roof and no attic space above to keep us warm. We wanted to make sure that this ceiling was insulated as best as we could get it. And after doing research on the internet, R38 seemed the best option. But the stuff isn’t cheap, and we ended up with a tidy bill of over $250 just to re-insulate the ceiling! Geesh. For such a small room, I was a little shocked. But I’m sure our heating bill will thank us one day :) And if we’re going to do it once, we might as well try to do it right…and hopefully the stuff will last another 50 years!

And then the ‘fun’ began. Meet our new best friend….Mr. Drywall Lifter (er….that’s what I called him!)…

Thanks to Home Depot…you can rent this guy for just $35/24 hrs.  We returned it just in time before our 24 hours was up, so it was well worth the $35!  Once we had the drywall up, we had 3 bulkheads to build to hide various pipes since this room was originally a Utility Room back when the house was built in the 50’s.

After the bulkheads were built, it was on to mudding/taping/painting/triming, and all that fun stuff. *Side note: Sanding mud above of your head allows for many particles of dust to get caught in your contacts…that’s where the ‘blood, sweat and TEARS’ came in to play! HA….

Here’s the finished look of the ceiling. It looks even better in person …and Ross and I both agreed that this was our proudest accomplishment. Sadly, no one will ever notice what we did since it looks like it’s always been there…but we sure notice, and it was worth every ounce of effort! Even the bulkheads look like they’ve always belonged….

The white paint on the floor in the picture above was primer, so our floor ‘levelor’ would adhere to the floor. I betcha wanna hear all about that project too, huh? Nope, you’re right, it’s not very interesting. Let’s move on to the final result with our newly insulated carpet (of which I have to say, I LOVE the color we chose…call it ‘beige’ or ‘white’ if you want, but there were SO MANY beige carpets to choose from, it was all a little overwhelming! And many beiges steered towards yellow too much, so we found the perfect balance.)

Fresh paint…fresh carpet….clean wood floors…clean HOUSE, now THIS is what I call home :) (Wait…does that make me sound high maintenance?!)

Welp, that’s it for tonight. The rest of the house tour isn’t quite as consuming, so I’ll post those pictures soon! Until then, I’ve got to finish getting ready for move-in day. T-minus 2 days!! :)

*Kristin*

 

One response to “Before & After(?) (Part 1)

  1. Love it, can’t wait to see it tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

